Cranberry Orange Granola

So after telling you all that I was going to change my blog and not talk so much about food posts, I find it interesting that one of my first posts is about food. Can’t help it I guess. I’m always cooking. I found this yummy granola recipe in a magazine and I’d like to share it with you. Dad said he thinks its his favorite of the ones I make. 🙂 I will share the original recipe even though I didn’t follow it exactly. (When do I ever???) I didn’t have dry milk powder or rice flour.

Cranberry-Orange Granola

1 canister rolled oats (Probably about 9 cups)

1 c. rice flour

2 c. dry milk powder

2 c. dry cranberries

1 1/2 c sliced almonds

1 c. butter (I used coconut oil)

1 c. honey

1 orange

Mix oats, flour, milk powder, cranberries, and nuts in a large bowl. In a saucepan, melt butter and sugar. Grate the peel of an orange, and squeeze the juice into the butter mixture. Discard pulp. Add orange peel, and simmer until honey is liquid. Pour over cereal mixture, and stir to coat. Toast on cookie sheets for an hour or longer at 275

If you can pray for the young lady who wrote this recipe. I found out she lost her 4 month old son. He died suddenly and they couldn’t figure out why since he was healthy and had no medical conditions. She blogs about her family here http://www.firefightersfamily-dhjc.blogspot.com/

1 Comment »

  1. wolfsrosebud Said:

    Looks like some food is making into your new direction…


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

